The Weekend Wrap-Up

23 09 2012

The weekends are normally very busy for me, busier, even, then the weekdays.  We run from swimming to CrossFit to soccer to errands to dinner with friends, etc!!  I love spending time with my family and relish our Saturday nights out without the kids but there is usually very little time for sitting and relaxing.  In my feeble attempt to multi-task, I brought my iPad to gymnastics Friday evening planning to write an update for this blog.  Technology has not been my friend and I just can’t seem to get the cursor to show up while working on a post – weird.  I have an appointment at Apple tomorrow for something unrelated but, hopefully, this will get resolved, too, as I spend a lot of time at the pool, on the soccer field and in gymnastic and dance studios and would like to be productive when I can.

So yesterday was one of those Saturdays where I was out of the house from 8am – 5pm with mostly kid-related commitments with a mere 15 minute stopover at home around 2:30.  When I finally returned I was just exhausted and really needed to sit for 20 minutes to recharge before getting dinner ready for the kids, updating my blog and heading in to the shower to primp for our dinner out with friends.  I grabbed part of the newspaper and headed out to a lounge chair on the back porch.  Maybe I made it through one article and then fell fast asleep, dreaming and all!

When I woke the sun was waning and there was an abundant amount of wildlife activity in the yard.  The squirrels, groundhog and birds must have forgotten I was there as I was still for so long.  I sat for a while just watching while listening to the cacophony of tweets, scratches and rustling wind.  The sky was quickly changing from day to night and was half filled with abundant clouds and half vividly blue.  It was incredibly moving to me, as I truly relish those moments yet I was also reminded of our miniscule place in the universe and how fleeting our time here really is.  Being outside under a vast sky and quietly enjoying all that is around me seems to have this effect on me.  It was at that moment that I decided to have a glass of wine at dinner.  How deep, right!

David and I do our best to get out Saturday nights without the kids, and the last two weeks have been no exception.  Last Saturday it was just the two of us and I honestly (really!) had no desire for that glass of wine.  But last night we were out with dear friends and I knew that sharing a glass of wine with them would make me happy and not doing so would make me feel a bit sad.  Again, I don’t feel bad about my decision, and in the scheme of things happiness counts for something.  (Thank you, moment in nature!!)

That brings me to where I am with my Morphin.  I have been eating 100% Paleo for two weeks now without and any significant cheats – a first for me!  I had two small pieces of watermelon the first week.  (Sounds okay but we are warding off any fruit except berries for this 30-day challenge.)  Last week I popped a few tater tots from one of the girls’ plates without giving it much thought as that was normal behavior in the past.  I didn’t particularly feel bad about either of those incidents and don’t feel they impacted the success of what I am trying to do.  In fact, I feel absolutely great and have a resurgence of energy.

Although I feel energetic my energy levels have not been parlaying into success in my CrossFit WODs.  I felt particularly slow and weak both Friday and Saturday.  There was a running component to both WODs and my legs were lead-like and my stamina poor.  Having done a lot of running in the past, and not having much of a problem with it at CF, the last two days have been surprising to me.  Not quite sure what is going on but will pay close attention to how much I am eating and attempt to get more sleep to see if either of those might help.  I was also planning on an Endurance WOD today, Sunday, but just did not have one in me.  I decided to take it as a rest day and not sweat it as my body probably just needs it after five CF WODs and one Endurance WOD this week.  I am scheduled for the 8:15 tomorrow morning and am ready to tackle it with more gusto and success!!

Friday, 9/21/12

  •  400m run 
  • 3 rounds of:
  • 30 wallballs (14#/9ft)
  • 20 push-ups
  • 10 pull-ups
  • 400m run

Time 19:47 RX (Max was 20 minutes so I just made it!)

Saturday, 9/22/12

Skill: Every minute on the minute 8x (45# first round/40# for rest)

  • Hang Power Snatch
  • Power Snatch
  • Overhead Squat
  • Squat Snatch

WOD: AMRAP in 10 minutes

  • 200m run
  • 15 Kettlebell Swings (35#)
  • 5 Burpees

Total reps: 110

Sunday, 9/23/12

Rest Day 🙂

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

