The Proof Is In The Pudding

11 10 2012

Today was the repeat benchmark WOD for the 31-day Paleo Challenge.  (We initially did this on September 6th.)  I was thinking it was going to be a disaster as it was COLD this morning and I knew there were three 400m runs in the workout.  Cold air has a horrible effect on my running performance normally and, in addition,  I develop a painful earache in both ears each time.  After two years of crossfitting you would think I toughened up a bit but, no, I still find it really hard to run in the cold and, wouldn’t you know, I still get earaches.  This is very frustrating to me as I realize now it is just out of my control.  I was able to dig out of storage a wide headband to cover my ears during the runs but when we started I got caught up in the excitement and sort of forgot about it.  Moment of Truth: Also, I just look bad in this thing (vanity rears its ugly head) and no one else was being such a woos!  I already had on a long-sleeved shirt over a sports bra and tank top while others were running in tank tops or t-shirts.  After the second run my ears were screaming so I decided it was time to go for it, and should have at the beginning of the workout.

The good news is I was still able to shave over 2 minutes off my time in only one month of clean eating, focused WODs and endurance training.  The proof is in the pudding, or in this case, lack of pudding!  As with all things CrossFit for me, I feel like I am just at the starting gate on what I can accomplish in my Morphin99.  Even though I feel better than ever and have seen some progress I am certain that I will improve from here.  There are two areas, though, that cause me some concern: first, the five runs in “Kelly” that I will have to do in December, when I am sure it will be even colder and, secondly, falling off the wagon a bit with my eating habits.

There are some things that I plan to do to address both of these.  I really need to just get my butt outside more for endurance runs.  My old pal, the treadmill, calls my name on rainy days, cold days and those where I procrastinate until the girls are in bed and then have no choice in the matter.  As for the eating, I am going to look at the next 30-days as, well,  the next 30-days of the challenge.  Although I am happy about my progress I don’t feel like I am where I want to be yet.  Back to the vanity thing: It is awesome to see body fat disappearing on a daily basis and I want that to continue!  Also, I just feel amazing: my energy is great, I feel strong, my attitude is more positive, I have more patience with the girls and I am really just a happier person.  These are things I don’t want to let go of and they definitely outshine the pleasure from indulging.  Therefore, I will continue nearly 100% Paleo and keep a detailed food log while allowing for wine once a week (preferably on Saturday night) and a cheat item or two.  Of course, I first have to go through the reintroduction process over the next few days, which I will do because I committed to it but don’t really want to.

Tuesday, 10/9

  • 50 Double Unders (RX)
  • 21 Squat Cleans (65#) 85# was RX
  • 50 Double Unders
  • 15 Squat Cleans
  • 50 Double Unders
  • 9 Squat Cleans
  • 14:31

Wednesday, 10/10

  • Endurance WOD
  • 5k at 85%
  • 30:58

Thursday, 10/11

  • “Grelen”
  • 15 Clean & Jerks (50#) then
  • 3 rounds of:
  • 400m run
  • 21 Kettlebell Swings
  • 12 Pull Ups (half RX, half 1/2 inch band)**
  • 18:27

**The benchmark called for doing the workout exactly as it was done on September 6th, otherwise I would have skipped the band and added more weight to the clean & jerks.  I was happy with my RX pull ups, though, as they are starting to feel better.  In fact, I was able to string together 5 unbroken for the first time today!  I had only been up to 3 before that.)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

